Press Release Title
For More Information Contact:
Donald W. Kohler
Vice-President of Marketing & Public Relations
2700 College Rd. Box 4-C
Council Bluffs, IA 51502
(712) 325-3262 or 1-800-432-5852, ext. 3262
March 13, 2014
Iowa Western Students Earn Academic Honors
Des Moines, Iowa - Four students from Iowa Western Community College were honored recently for academic excellence by the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. The students were named to the 2014 All-Iowa Academic Team during a special ceremony in Des Moines. Keynote speaker for the event was Rod Risley, executive director of Phi Theta Kappa, the largest honor society in higher education.

The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa provides opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

The organizationís mission is two-fold: to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and; to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming.

Earning honors from Iowa Western were:

Angela D. Sherlock, Burlington Junction, Mo. (Clarinda campus), Nursing.

Ashley L. Thomsen, Clarinda (Clarinda campus), Nursing.

Angie D. Koenig, Council Bluffs, K-12 Education.

Nicole A. Mann, Council Bluffs, General Studies.

Pictured from left are: Nicole Mann, Angie Koenig, Iowa Western President Dr. Dan Kinney, Angela Sherlock and Ashley Thomsen.