After a Pandemic Pause, NACEP Awards Accreditation to 25
Concurrent Enrollment Programs

Concurrent Enrollment Programs Offering College Courses Taught by High School
Instructors and College Faculty Secure NACEP Accreditation

May 9, 2022, Chapel Hill, NC – The National Alliance of Concurrent Enrollment Partnerships (NACEP) Accreditation Commission granted accreditation to 25 concurrent enrollment programs at colleges and universities nationwide. This brings the total number of NACEP accredited programs across the country to 134, spanning 26 states.

In early 2020, NACEP’s Accreditation Commission elected to postpone the accreditation application cycle to allow programs pursuing accreditation the opportunity to adjust to the unknown realities of operating a program during a global pandemic. “After pausing the cycle NACEP was thrilled to return to the critical work of accrediting programs. This cycle has been a busy one full of new opportunities and exciting firsts. We are excited to add Ivy Tech Community College (IN) as a newly accredited member; with more than 60,000 students and 445 partner schools, Ivy Tech has the unique distinction of being the largest NACEP-accredited program in the nation. We also added our first accredited program in the state of South Carolina and welcomed Ohio back as a state with NACEP accredited programs,” noted NACEP Executive Director, Amy Williams.

In 2019, the NACEP membership voted to expand the scope of standards and added a new set of standards for the College Provided Faculty (CPF) endorsement. The College Provided Faculty (CPF) model is defined as college courses taught to high school students by faculty provided by the college (regardless of location or delivery method). “NACEP is excited to award accreditation under the CPF endorsement to three institutions, Grand Rapids Community College (MI), Snow College (UT) and Idaho State University (ID). Idaho State University is the first college to become accredited with both the College Provided Faculty and Concurrent Enrollment Program endorsements,” said NACEP Accreditation Commission Vice-Chair, Diana Johnson.

As the nation’s only accrediting body for these unique and impactful educational partnerships, NACEP’s standards serve as the model criteria for ensuring parity in faculty, course content, student outcomes and support. Receiving NACEP accreditation means an institution has met the nation’s most rigorous standard in concurrent enrollment program development, management, and evaluation across multiple, multifaceted program areas. To earn NACEP accreditation, concurrent enrollment programs conduct a self-study, document how their programs adhere to NACEP’s sixteen standards, and undergo a rigorous peer-review process conducted by a team of representatives from NACEP accredited programs as well as the NACEP Accreditation Commission. NACEP’s accreditation is valid for five years for initial accreditation and then seven years for reaccreditation, during which time programs commit to uphold NACEP’s standards and report annually on program practices.

“On behalf of the Accreditation Commission, I want to congratulate all of the newly accredited and re-accredited programs. These programs have successfully demonstrated that they meet the NACEP standards for high-quality programming for concurrent enrollment, and college provided faculty models. Many thanks to the hundreds of volunteers who make this process possible, specifically the Accreditation Commissioners and the Peer Reviewers. None of this work and support is achievable without their amazing contributions,” stated NACEP Accreditation Commission Chair, Michael Beam.

Institutions Earning Initial Accreditation

  • Bemidji State University (MN)
  • Central Washington University (WA)
  • Grand Rapids Community College (MI)
  • Hocking Community College (OH)
  • Ivy Tech Community College (IN)
  • Pine Technical and Community College (MN)
  • Rochester Community and Technical College (MN)
  • Snow College (UT)
  • Spartanburg Community College (SC)
  • St. Cloud Technical & Community College (MN)
  • University of Findlay (OH)
  • University of Pittsburgh (PA)
  • West Georgia Technical College (GA)
  • Whatcom Community College (WA)
  • Wytheville Community College (VA)

Institutions Earning Re-Accreditation

  • Everett Community Colleges (WA)
  • Idaho State University (ID)
  • Iowa Western Community College (IA)
  • Johnson County Community College (MO)
  • Northland Community and Technical College (MN)
  • Pennsylvania Highlands Community College (PA)
  • University of Connecticut (CT)
  • University of Minnesota Crookston (MN)
  • University of Washington (WA)
  • West Kentucky Community and Technical College (KY)